This is one of the most common questions asked to DUI lawyers. When you ask lawyers this question, you do not always get straight answers because every circumstance is different.
According to DUI.com the most common penalties are as follows.
3 years probation
3-5 days sheriff work alternative program
4 months suspended license
First offender school
When a driver in the state of California is arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol their driver’s license is immediately confiscated by the police and then served with the DMV’s ‘Notice of Suspension’.
This will formally suspend their license, provide temporary driving privileges for 30 days and will also explain some aspects of the applicable law.
In addition, it states that there is a right to contest the suspension and force the DMV to return the license as long as the DMV’s Local Driver Safety is contacted by the attorney within 10 calendar days of the arrest.
A driver’s license is immediately suspended if their blood alcohol level is above .08% (or above .01% for drivers under 21 years of age) or if they refuse to take a chemical test. If the driver is from another state other than California, then the officer has no right to seize their license.
However, the officer will issue a ‘Notice of Suspension’ which suspends the driver’s license in the state of California (after 30 days) from driving. If there is a conviction in court, the state of California will contact the home state of the convicted party, and that state will usually suspend their license the same way they do it there.
Ramification of Getting a California DUI
First off – getting a DUI will cost you money.
First offence: $390 – $1000 plus local fees, penalties and assessments for a total of $1300 – $3500. This doesn’t include any lawyers fees –which can be from $500.00 to $15,000 depending on if you’re in a small town or large metro area. Generally speaking the more experienced the lawyer (and you want an experienced lawyer) the more it will cost.
There are social ramifications of getting a DUI as well. A charge of DUI/DWI can have serious ramifications on a defendant’s driver’s license, criminal record and ability to work and function in society. Some employers may decline in hiring someone because of a felony level DUI.
Ask yourself before getting behind the wheel after drinking if it’s really worth it. Based on the above –a cab ride home is downright cheap. Be safe –not sorry.
Disclaimer: The contents of this site, such as text, graphics, images, and other materials contained on the page are for general information purposes only. This article is not a substitute for professional advice on the topics mentioned. This article does not create any form of offers to any legal or professional service. The site assumes no responsibility for errors or omissions in the contents. In no event shall the site be liable for any special, direct, indirect, consequential, or incidental damages or any damages whatsoever, whether in an action to follow the content, negligence or other tort, arising out of the use of the contents of the article. The blog reserves the right to make additions, deletions, or modifications to the contents at any time without prior notice. The site does not warrant that the site is free of viruses or other harmful components. It may contain views and opinions which are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of any other author, agency, organization, employer or company, including the site itself. It also does not provide professional advice, diagnosis, treatment or any legal service. The site does not endorse official procedures, legal actions or qualified services and the use of its contents are solely at your own risk.